How To Stop or Opt-outs WhatsApp from Sharing Personal Information with Facebook – if already agreed to the New Terms of Service and Privacy Policy

WhatsApp recently updates privacy policy which allowed them to share user data including phone numbers with their parent company Facebook. WhatsApp claims that this changes will give better experience for users by connect your phone number with Facebook’s system enable them to offer better friend suggestions and show the relevant ads if you have account with them. However, WhatsApp has promised that users’ info will remain private and they won’t post, sell, share or give phone number to advertisers.

Despite these assurances, you still worrying of putting your phone number on the app, don’t worry, you still got a chance to stop or opt out from this. There are two ways to stop it, depending on whether you have blindly accepted the terms or not.

how-to-stop-or-opt-outs-whatsapp-from-sharing-personal-information-with-facebook-if-already-agreed-to-the-new-terms-of-service-and-privacy-policy

The first method is done before you accept the new term of service. When a message pop up and ask your permission to agree the terms, rather than clicking “agree” button, you can click the “read more” option in the bottom and untick the box that showed “Share my WhatsApp account information with Facebook”.
The second method is to help those who have already accepted the new terms.

How To Stop or Opt-outs WhatsApp from Sharing Personal Information with Facebook

For iOS users:
Follow the steps below to stop WhatsApp from sharing your phone number with Facebook

  1. Launch WhatsApp on iPhone or iPad.
  2. On the bottom right corner, click on Settings option.
  3. Click on Account tab on setting screen.
  4. Moving the toggle to right to OFF or disable the option for Share My Account Info
  5. Once done, you will see a pop up message and just tab on “Don’t Share” button.

For Android users:
Follow the steps below to stop WhatsApp from sharing your phone number with Facebook

  1. Launch WhatsApp on Android devices.
  2. On the top right corner, click on the 3 dots Menu.
  3. From the dropdown list, tab on Settings and then select Account.
  4. On the next screen, untick the option “Share My Account Info”.
  5. A message will pop up, simply tab on “Don’t Share” to totally opt out.

According to WhatsApp, this opt out option is limited to 30 days only after you accept the new privacy policy. In case you change your mind after accepted, you still have rights to backtrack before the window closed.

You can share or follow us on Twitter, Pinterest, add us to your circle on Google+ or like our Facebook page to keep yourself updated on all the latest info from Microsoft, Google, Apple iOS, and Android.

Leave a Reply